More sitting MDC-T MPs fall in primaries

Several sitting MDC-T MPs in Masvingo yesterday failed the confirmation test amid reports that the party would want to protect some big wigs in Zaka North and Bikita East constituencies.

Sitting legislators are supposed to go through the confirmation exercise where they must get at least 50 percent and one votes, failure of which they compete with others in the ongoing primaries.

Those who failed include Zaka Central MP and party provincial spokesman, Harrison Mudzuri, Oliver Chirume (Gutu Central) , Hamandishe Maramwidze (Gutu North),Moses Mare (Chiredzi West), Enerst Mudavanhu (Zaka North) and Edmore Marima (Bikita East).

However, it has emerged that results from Bikita East and Zaka North have been set aside as the party reportedly battles to protect the sitting MPs.

MDC-T Masvingo Provincial Secretary, Tongai Matutu, confirmed delaying announcing the results in the two constituencies.

"We have set aside results in Zaka North and Bikita East because the sitting MPs were not there as they were not feeling well ", said Matutu. The party is going to decide on the way forward in these two constituencies", added Matutu.

However sources within the party said that the delay was a ploy to protect Marima and Mudavanhu. Marima is a former national executive member while Mudavanhu is the party's provincial organising secretary.

Those who made it during the confirmation exercise include Tongai Matutu (Masvingo Urban),Ransome Makamure (Gutu East), Jani Vharandeni (Bikita South), Heya Shoko (Bikita West) and Festus Dumbu (Zaka East).

Other MDC-T candidates who made it through primary elections include Eriam Musendekwa (Gutu South), Benard Chiondegwa (Chivi North), Tapuwa Murambi (Chivi Central), Xavier Wamambo (Chivi South), Nobel Mugabe (Masvingo North), Allan Moyo (Masvingo Central) and Lovemore Matongo (Masvingo South).

In Masvingo West, Takanai Mureyi won unopposed after the sitting MP, Tachiona Mharadze, withdrew from the race.

Tagged under: