Zanu wins rural elections

HARARE - President Robert Mugabe's ruling ZANU (PF) party retained two rural constituencies in weekend by-elections, Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) spokesman Utoile Silaigwana said this week.
Silaigwana said ZANU (PF)'s Stephen Chiurayi beat opposition Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) pa

rty’s Moses Jiri to clinch Chikomba constituency. In Rushinga constituency, the ruling party’s Lazarus Dokora won against MDC’s Kudakwashe Chideya.
The ZEC official said figures on the two polls were not yet available owing to bad roads and poor communication.
“ZANU (PF) has won both constituencies but I do not have the exact figures owing to bad roads and poor communication with the result centres.
The constituency registrars will have to travel physically to bring the results,” Silaigwana said.
The Rushinga by-election was held to fill the vacancy left after the death of ZANU (PF) legislator Sandra Machirori, while the Chikomba poll was to replace the late ruling party parliamentarian and former information minister Tichaona Jokonya who died last June.
ZANU (PF) was expected to win in the rural constituencies that have traditionally voted for the ruling party. The poll results do not alter representation in the House of Assembly with the MDC maintaining control of the 41 seats it won in last year’s general election.
ZANU (PF) controls 78 seats it won in that poll plus another 30 seats occupied by individuals appointed to Parliament by Mugabe, giving the ruling party more than the two-thirds majority required to amend the Constitution.
The other seat is held by former information minister Jonathan Moyo who stood as an independent in last year’s parliamentary election.
Zimbabwe also has a House of Senate reintroduced by the government last year and also controlled by ZANU (PF).
The main faction of the MDC led by Morgan Tsvangirai took part in the Saturday election while the smaller wing of the fractured opposition party that is led by prominent academic Arthur Mutambara did not take part.
Meanwhile, Silaigwana also said ZANU (PF) had won in 13 of 14 district wards in elections also conducted last Saturday. The MDC won in Manyene north ward. – ZimOnline

Post published in: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *