MDC wins Speakership

MDC wins Speakership

MDC Pressroom-We are in charge!

There is no doubt who is in charge of the 7th Parliament after 110 MPs voted
for MDC national chairman and Matobo North MP, Hon Lovemore Moyo as the
Speaker of Parliament.

Hon Moyo polled 110 votes against 108 votes garnered by former MP Paul

Themba Nyathi of the Arthur Mutambara-led formation.

Zanu PF MPs were backing Themba Nyathi, but they were left in shock after

110 MPs voted for the MDC candidate. The MDC had 99 MPs in the house and

permutations had been made that Nyathi would be the automatic winner.

But democracy had other ideas!

The MDC staved off the early morning arrest of two MPs, Hon Shuah Mudiwa

(Mutare West) and Eliah Jembere (Epworth) to assert its dominance in the

Lower House. Hon Mudiwa was later released and he later attended Parliament

in time to teach Zanu PF MPs a lesson. But Jembere is still in the custody

of the police and the charges he is facing remain unknown.

The MDC is in charge. We are in control. The people’s project is on course!

MDC Information and Publicity

Post published in: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *