MDC Today

mdc_logoEdify Mazvohwa, the MDC information and publicity secretary for Gokwe in Midlands North province was yesterday detained for 10 hours at Gokwe police station for enquiring why the police had released Zanu PF activists five minutes after arresting them for assault.

Mazvohwa had gone to the police station to enquire on why the police had released two Zanu PF supporters, Ramius Chapotera and one Zimba who had brutally attacked three sons of an MDC activist, Cruiser Svosve on Monday.

Svosves sons, Terrence, Casper and Morris were attacked in Mapfungatsi suburb by the two Zanu PF supporters who were armed with knives. During the attack, the Zanu PF thugs also burnt the three brothers clothes. They accused the three brothers of foiling their attempt to beat up the elder Svosve during the violent run-up to the sham 2008 June Presidential run-off.

Svosve, who is an MDC district member, made a police report on Monday and was told by police officers to bring in the culprits. He managed to get the assistance of other MDC supporters in the area and apprehended the two before taking them to the police station. Chapotera and Zimba were however released within five minutes of their arrest, which prompted Mazvohwa to enquire at the police station. However, he was arrested and detained for 10 hours after which he was made to pay a fine of US$5 for obstructing justice.

In Bindura, Mashonaland Central province, Godfrey Chimombe, the MDC acting provincial chairman who is facing trumped-up charges of undermining the President had his court case postponed to 20 August at the Bindura magistrates court. Chimombe is accused of undermining the President after he addressed a rally at Pfura stadium in Mt Darwin on February 6 this year.

Meanwhile, the Speaker of Parliament and the MDC national chairperson, Hon. Lovemore Moyo has appointed four MPs from the MDC as chairpersons of parliamentary portfolio committees to replace those who were appointed ministers by the MDC President and Zimbabwe Prime Minister, Dr. Morgan Tsvangirai.

Makoni West MP, Hon. Webber Chinyadza now chairs the Public Accounts Committee replacing Hon. Tapiwa Mashakada who is now Economic Planning and Investment Promotion minister. Nyanga North MP, Hon. Douglas Mwonzora is the chairperson for the Justice, Legal, Constitutional and Parliamentary committee replacing Hon. Tongai Matutu who is now the Youth Development, Indigenisation and Empowerment deputy minister.

Nketa MP, Seiso Moyo is the chairperson for the Media, Information, Communication Technology and Publicity committee replacing Hon. Gift Chimanikire, who is now the Mines and Mining deputy minister. Hon. Innocent Gonese Mutare Central MP replaces Chisipite senator, Hon. Obert Gutu in the Parliamentary and Legal committee who is now Justice and Legal Affairs deputy minister.

Post published in: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *