Warriors camp for Liberia game

esromHARARE- The Warriors go into camp tomorrow as they step up preparations for their 2012 African Cup of Nations qualifier against Liberia next month. (Pictured: Esrom Nyandoro -- Dropped)

Caretaker coach Norman Mapeza has named an enlarged 36-man squad consisting of home based and foreign professionals for the crucial encounter schedule for September 5 in the Liberian capital Monrovia.

The squad announced by Mapeza last week blends youth and experience. But clubless captain Benjani Mwaruwari and his deputy Esrom Nyandoro of Sundowns were dropped from the squad.

But Mapeza told reporters he was not shutting the door on the two players saying he was ready to recall them to the squad if they start playing well.

Nyandoro is the captain of South African giants Mamelodi Sundowns. Mwaruwari, who is now a free agent after his contract with Manchester City ended in May, is currently training with English Premiership side Black Burn Rovers, hoping to seal a deal.

The team which gets into camp tomorrow (Monday) has 13 foreign based players and 23 home based players.

The Warriors are in the same group with seasoned campaigners Mali and the Cape Verde whose game has improved greatly in the last couple of years.

Squad: Home based:

Goalkeepers: W Arubi, T Dube(Gunners), Maxwell Nyamupanedengu(Kiglon),

Defenders: G Zhokinyu(Dynamos), D Vheremu(Gunners), G Banda(Highlanders), G Mapemba (CAPS United), Z Ngodzo(Highlanders), N Mukumbi(CAPS United), Q Armin(Gunners), J Kapenya (Hwange),

Midfielders: A Rambanepasi(Dynamos), W Katsande(Gunners), E Mudzingwa(Highlanders), B Marere (Dynamos), R Muteki (Black Mambas), B Ncube(Motor Action), A Sadiki (Gunners), A Gahadzikwa(Motor Action),

Strikers: N Maroto(Gunners), E Gwekwerere(Dynamos), C Sibanda (Motor Action), C Malajila (Dynamos)

Foreign based: M Mwanjali (Mamelodi Sundowns), T Sweswe(Kaizer Chiefs), N Kaseke (AC Amona), O Bhasera (Plymouth Arglye), C Nhamoinesu( Zaglebie Lubin- Poland), J Majabvi (Lask Linz(Austria, L Mtizwa(M Sundowns), Q Antipas (Sonderjysk E- Denmark), C Matawu (Polonia Bytom- Poland), K Musona(Kaizer Chiefs), E Sadomba (Al-Hilal

-Sudan), T Rusike Ajax Capetown(SA), N Mushekwi(M Sundowns)

Post published in: Football

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *