Prime Minister Tsvangirai wins prestigious Democracy Award 2010

tsvangiraiPARIS, FRANCE - Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai (pictured), and the President of the MDC, today won the International Association of Political Consultants (IAPC) Democracy Medal.

The award was presented to him at the 43rd annual world conference of the IAPC in Paris, France. The conference is being held under the theme Campaigns Without Frontiers.

The IAPC is an international association of renowned experts and strategists in media, politics and democracy. The award is given to an organization or individual courageously fostering, promoting and sustaining the democratic process anywhere in the world.

Prime Minister Tsvangirai won the award in recognition of his unstinting effort and courageous leadership in the struggle for democracy and freedom in Zimbabwe. In his acceptance speech, he said the medal belonged to the people of Zimbabwe, dead and living, who have borne the brunt and pain of the struggle for democracy, freedom and real change. Previous winners of the IAPC Democracy Award include Lech Walesa (Poland), Aung San SuuKyi (Burma) and renowned freedom icon and former South African President Nelson Mandela who spent 27 years in prison fighting apartheid.

Prime MinisterTsvangirai becomes the second African leader to win the award after Mandela who won it in 1993. The Prime Minister is in Paris accompanied by the Minister of State in the Prime Ministers Office, Hon Jameson Timba and Hon Nelson Chamisa, the Minister of Information Communication Technologies and other senior government officials, including the Zimbabwean envoy to France, Ambassador Hamadziripi.

Post published in: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *