Warriors to face Zambia in international match

Zimbabwe Warriors regroup when they troop into camp tomorrow (Monday) ahead of the battle of the Zambezi with neighbours Zambia in a high profile international friendly match at Rufaro on Wednesday.

The Warriors are using the match, which is within the FIFA calendar for international matches, as a dress rehearsal for their decisive 2012 African Cup of Nations qualifier at home against Liberia in September.

Mapeza has requested that all players report to camp on Monday.

Manager Sharif Mussa said they did not have much time to train and were expecting all players to be in camp by Monday night.

It is the first time the Warriors will be coming together since their emotional 2-1 win over the Eagles of Mali on June 5 in Harare. And coach Norman Mapeza has named a 20-man squad dominated by players based in South Africa for the match.

Skipper Method Mwanjali leads the South African contingent that also includes veteran goalkeeper Tapiwa Kapini, Tinashe Nengomasha, Knowledge Musona, Simba Sithole, Gilbert Mapemba and the duo of Willard Katsande and Khama Billiart.

Mamelodi Sundowns striker Nyasha Mushewki is still serving his suspension after picking up two yellow cards in the previous qualifiers.

There were no places for defender Thomas Sweswe, who turns out for Kaiser Chiefs, and the Austria-based Justice Majabvi who played in the Warriors’ 2-1 win over Mali last month.

But FC Platinum defender Lyncoln Zvasiya and Highlanders midfielder Eric Mudzingwa were rewarded for their consistency after they found their way into the team.

Zimbabwe Squad

Goalkeepers: T. Kapini (Platinum Stars, South Africa), W Arubi (Dynamos)

Defenders: M. Mwanjali (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), D. Vheremu (FC Platinum, Zimbabwe), Q. Amin (Gunners, Zimbabwe), Lyncoln Zvasiya (FC

Platinum) G. Mapemba (Moroka Swallows, South Africa), T. Kumbuyani (CAPS United), V. Nyoni (Germinal Berschot)

Midfielders: T. Nengomasha (Chiefs, South Africa), Q. Antipas (Sonderivske, Denmark), K. Billiart & W. Katsande (both Ajax Cape Town, South Africa), O. Karuru (US Boulogne, France), E Mudzingwa (Highlanders), B Marere (FC Platinum). Charles Sibanda (FC Platinum)

Strikers: K. Musona (Chiefs, South Africa), E. Sadomba (Al Hilal, Sudan), S.

Sithole (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)

Post published in: Football

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *