Qualifiers squad announced

Zimbabwe Cricket named a 14-member squad that would participate in the upcoming International Cricket Council Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2011.

ICC confirmed it had received the list of players ahead of the weekend. Sharne Meyers will captain the squad during the qualifiers for ICC’s flagship women’s tournament next year.

The qualifiers are scheduled for Dhaka, Bangladesh from 14 to 25 November.

Host Bangladesh will be joined by teams from Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, USA and Zimbabwe to battle it out for the four remaining spots at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2013 which will be hosted by India.

Zimbabwe are in a relatively tough Group A alongside favourites South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands and the United States.

World champion England, Australia, India and New Zealand have already qualified for the event by virtue of finishing in the top four at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2009 which was staged in Sydney.

Zimbabwe Squad: Sharne Meyers (captain), Julia Chibhabha, Precious Marange, Ashley Ndiraya, Sharyce Saili, Modester Mupachikwa, Pellagia Mujaji, Nonhlanhla Nyathi, Sinikiwe Mpofu, Thandolwenkosi Mlilo, Christabel Chatonzwa, Sarah Dambanevana, Audrey Mazvishaya, Loreen Tshuma

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *