MDC-T SA’s new district leadership

MDC-T SA province has selected a new District Leadership which has finally managed to unify two of its previously warring branches.

Earlier efforts to bring together the Chikohwero-led district and the one led by the late Remember Moyo, initially failed until the two districts were divided into Johannesburg South and North.

However, Moyo recently announced in a media conference that efforts to reunite the district and form one structure had finally borne fruit and that the success came about as a negotiated settlement between leaders of the two districts.

“The new district chairman is Freedom Ndlovu, whose deputy is Solomon Mudadi,” announced Moyo. “We had to move on and I am very glad that all those involved saw it imperative that the party had to win at the end of the day.”

The district’s new secretary is Time Sipuma, who will be deputised by Nkosinathi Ncube. Trust Ndlovu remains the district organizing secretary, with Bongani Mathe as his deputy. Mncedisi Bhebhe assumed the post of director of elections, Ian McAlister that of treasurer, deputised by Judge Ncube, while Alice Mhlanga becomes the new district Information and Publicity Secretary. Milton Matshazi becomes the new secretary for welfare, deputised by Emmanuel Mutero.

The Women’s Assembly is now being chaired by Melisa Mtetwa, deputised by Florence Ndlovu, while the secretary is Sidiniwe Gumbo, who will be assisted by Paulina Ndlovu. Justice Siwela chairs the district youth assembly with Raphel Mutandiri as his deputy and Tracy Sibindi the secretary.

New district chair Ndlovu announced a guiding programme of action, which he said would run from 2011 to 2013. Key among the areas targeted by the district is lobbying extensively for publicity and solidarity from South Africa for democratic change in Zimbabwe.

Post published in: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *