Saints & Churchill to play in annual T20

The highly anticipated Standard Bank Zimbabwe Limited (Stanbic) Bank 20 series is never short of innovations and surprises, organisers released the match schedule for the 2011 edition.

The edition now incorporates the top primary and secondary schools in Zimbabwe.

The inaugural edition of the Zimbabwe Domestic Twenty20 competition had five local franchises and the Namibian Desert Vipers and the oncoming version, which is the third, features nine teams which include the five franchise teams and four schools.

"Churchill High School and St Georges have a healthy rivalry that will be the highlight of the school boys calendar. Dubbed the Saints versus the Bulldogs derby, this will be a chance for the world to have a glimpse of the high level of cricket being played at development level," a Zimbabwe Ceicket Council (ZCC) spokesman said in a statement.

"This is part of the future of cricket in Zimbabwe and nothing will be as marvelous as seeing some of these boys in the men’s national team someday."

He said 16 matches would be played over a period of nine days.

"This will be a historic occasion for the youngsters to take centre stage at a venue that brought a record 9000 fans that watched the Mountaineers lift the championship in 2010," he said.

"The two primary schools are Ruzawi Primary School which will play against Chipembere Primary school while high school rivals St Georges College will derby against Churchill High School."

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *