Zimbabwe squad for 2012 New Zealand Tour

The National Selectors have announced the Zimbabwe squad for the New Zealand tour starting today until February 14.

 Brendan Taylor (Captain)
Brendan Taylor (Captain)

1. Brendan Taylor (Captain)

2. Regis Chakabva

3. Elton Chigumbura

4. Graeme Cremer

5. Kyle Jarvis

6. Hamilton Masakadza

7. Shingirai Masakadza;

8. Stuart Matsikenyeri

9. Tinotenda Mawoyo;

10. Keegan Meth

11. Forster Mutizwa

12. Raymond Price

13. Tatenda Taibu

14. Prosper Utseya

15. Brian Vitori

16. Malcolm Waller

Commenting on the 16-man squad, the convener of selectors, Givemore Makoni, said: “Graeme Cremer is going as the second spinner for the Test match and will then be replaced by Prosper Utseya for the One-Day International and Twenty20 matches.

"Stuart Matsikenyeri has earned a recall into the national squad as he has done very well in the domestic competitions and is one of the few batsmen who has been consistent. He is an experienced and aggressive player.”

Vusimuzi Sibanda was not selected for the traveling party as the selectors upheld the Zimbabwe Cricket's Cricket Committee policy which states that to be eligible for national selection, one has to be contracted to play domestic cricket in Zimbabwe.

At the beginning of the season, Sibanda was offered a Zimbabwe Cricket contract which he declined in favor of one to play Grade Cricket in Australia.

The eligibility policy provides for exceptions in the case of once-off tournaments abroad in which case a no-objection certificate is issued, such as the one given to Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor.

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *