Australia removes 82 people from the Zimbabwe sanctions list

Australia will remove 82 individuals from the autonomous financial and travel sanctions list for Zimbabwe.

Acting Foreign Minister Craig Emerson
Acting Foreign Minister Craig Emerson

Acting Foreign Minister Craig Emerson said the 82 people to be removed from the list no longer posed a threat to the restoration of democracy, the rule of law, or progress under the Zimbabwean Government’s power sharing deal.

“We are working closely with our partners in the United Kingdom, Europe and the United States to support the combined efforts of Zimbabwe, South Africa and the Southern African Development Community to build a brighter future for Zimbabwe,” Dr Emerson said.

“Australia’s autonomous sanctions regime against Zimbabwe remains one of the world’s toughest. We will continue to uphold this until there is further progress towards democracy and respect for the rule of law in Zimbabwe.”

Australia will retain travel and financial sanctions on 153 individuals and four entities. Australia will also continue to prevent the adult children of listed individuals from studying in Australia and prohibit defence links and the sale of military equipment to Zimbabwe.

The Australian Government is committed to improving the lives of the people of Zimbabwe and is the third largest bilateral donor to the global effort to assist Zimbabwe, focused on humanitarian relief and promoting economic recovery.

“We want to see Zimbabwe get back on its feet so that its economy can prosper and its society can be freer, fairer and more democratic,” Dr Emerson said.

The changes to the sanctions list will take effect as soon as the amended list is published on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments.

Media enquiries

• Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500

• DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555

Post published in: Africa News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *