Cricketers up for awards

Zimbabweans did not make it into the ninth edition of the ICC Cricketer and Test Cricketer of the Year awards, but the nation’s hopes for a medal still lie with Brendan Taylor and Tino Mawoyo.

Taylor stands to win an award in the Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year category, while countryman and teammate, Mawoyo, has been nominated for the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award.

The awards will be presented in a ceremony pencilled for September 15 in Colombo and will be for players chosen by an independent selection panel of experts, based on the period between August 4, 2011, to August 6 this year.

Taylor will have to beat 14 other nominees for his prize, including Pakistani’s Shahid Afridi and Saeed Ajmal and Australia’s Michael Clarke and Shane Watson. Mawoyo is up against 11 other contestants, including New Zealand’s Trent Boult, Sri Lanka’s Dinesh Chandimal and the West Indies’ Sunil Narine.

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *