Mozambique and Seychelles suppress entry visas

The governments of Mozambique and the Seychelles signed on Thursday in New York an agreement suppressing the requirement for entry visas for citizens of one of the countries wishing to make a short visit to the other.

According to a press release from the Mozambican Foreign Ministry, the agreement is intended to promote trade and economic development and facilitate the circulation of citizens between the two countries.

The agreement was signed at the Mozambican embassy in the United Nations by Foreign Minister Oldemiro Baloi and his Seychelles counterpart, Jean-Paul Adam.

Mozambique and Seychelles are both members of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), and this agreement is the latest step in the SADC drive to ensure visa-free travel between all members of the regional bloc.

Now the only SADC members with which Mozambique does not yet have a visa waiver agreement are Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Madagascar (which is still suspended from SADC, following the 2009 coup d’etat).

Post published in: Africa News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *