Zim lose Jarvis

One of Zimbabwe's top bowler Kyle Jarvis has pulled out of the squad preparing for the Pakistan tour to take up a county contract.

He told Zimbabwe Cricket authorities that he has received a lucrative offer from Lancashire County Cricket Club in England, and has decided to take it up as it offers him an opportunity to grow his game by playing alongside the likes of England international James Anderson and former South Africa batsman Ashwell Prince.

Jarvis said that he has not turned his back on international cricket and that given his age, the three-year contract provides a unique opportunity to mature as a player who would then give back more then than he has been doing now.

The 24-year old seamer, whose father Malcolm also played for Zimbabwe and then served as a member of the technical staff for the national team, will leave for the United Kingdom early next month.

The tour opens on Friday afternoon with the first Twenty20 International match while the second Twenty20 International match is on Saturday afternoon.

In addition to the two T20 matches, Harare Sports Club will host three One-Day International matches on the 27th, the 29th and the 31st of this month and the first Test match, which starts on September 3.

Thereafter, the tour will move to Bulawayo for the second and final Test match, which is scheduled for Queens Sports Club from september 10-14.

Zimbabwe Practice Squad:

Brendan Taylor (captain and wicket-keeper, Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva,Tendai Chatara, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Michael Chinouya, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingirai Masakadza, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Natsai M’shangwe, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller and Sean Williams.


T20 squad: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Akmal (wicket-keeper), Anwar Ali, Asad Ali, Umar Amin, Zulfiqar Babar, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Junaid Khan, Sohaib Maqsood, Ahmed Shahzad, Haris Sohail and Sohail Tanvir.

ODI squad:

Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Akmal (wicket-keeper), Anwar Ali, Asad Ali, Umar Amin, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Junaid Khan, Abdul Rehman, Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shahzad and Haris Sohail.

Test squad:

Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Ehsan Adil, Saeed Ajmal, Adnan Akmal (wicket-keeper), Azhar Ali, Rahat Ali, Shan Masood, Mohammad Hafeez, Faisal Iqbal, Junaid Khan, Younis Khan, Khurram Manzoor, Wahab Riaz, Abdul Rehman and Asad Shafiq.

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *