MDC-T fires Gweru Mayor, 9 councillors

The Midlands South MDC-T executive has fired 10 of its 16 Gweru councillors, including newly elected Mayor, Hamutendi Kombayi, and his deputy, Artwell Matyorauta.

The party’s leadership passed the resolution at a provincial meeting that ended last night where the councillors were found guilty of defying an internal directive on the selection of mayoral positions.

Other fired councillors are Moses Marecha (Ward 5) Nokhutula Mbano (Ward 3) Tawanda Magidi (Ward 16) Enerst Guduza (Ward 14) Farai Muza (Ward 17) Albert Chirau (Ward 11) Willard Ndaguta (Ward 8) and Bornface Magara ( Ward 18).

In a press conference held today at the MDC-T provincial headquarters in the medium density suburb of Athlone, the party’s Acting Provincial Organising Secretary Jameson Tsuro said their decision was the best following the defiance.

“We could not have had a better resolution. All the councillors were told to vote for Charles Chikozho for Mayor and Kenneth Sithole for Deputy Mayor. This was after the party had made a selection process that resulted in the two being identified for the posts.

“However, the 10 councillors defied that directive before they even went to vote at the council chamber. They boycotted all meetings that were called by the party to discuss how they would vote for the selected people and defied party the directive, voting for Kombayi and Matyorauta.

“We cannot work with such people in our party of excellence. People who defy the way of the party have no space in MDC-T,” said Tsuro.

According to Article 278 as read with Article 129 (i) and (k) of the new constitution, a party which expels its councillors and mayors should inform the Minister of Local Government.

The minister is required to facilitate for the holding of by-elections within 90 days.

Under the old law, the minister had the power to ensure councillors and mayors expelled from their parties remained in council till the expiry of their terms.

Post published in: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *