New mayors for Harare and Bulawayo

MDC-T has chosen Bernard Manyenyeni and Martin Moyo as the new mayors for Harare and Bulawayo, respectively.

Manyenyeni, who takes over from Muchadeyi Masunda, was in July elected Councillor for Mt Pleasant’s Ward 17, replacing Warship Dumba who was also eyeing the mayoral post.

Manyenyeni polled 38 votes against Zanu (PF) candidate Bidol Gwasira’s seven. Thomas Muzuva was officially elected Deputy Mayor, beating Zanu (PF)’s Samuel Garachani by the same margin.

MDC-T had earlier preferred Obert Gutu who is not a councillor to become mayor, but seems to have backed down from its insistence to chose the person from non-elected individuals., Party spokesperson, DouglasMwonzora, said Manyenyeni had been the party’s preferred second choice behind Gutu.

“Manyenyeni has been our second choice because we were aware that Zanu (PF) would throw spanners in our quest to provide Harare with a mayor (from unelected individuals),” he said.

“What is important is that the choice of Councillor Manyenyeni was a democratic process while the other person was imposed by Mugabe,” said Mwonzora.

Manyenyeni holds a Masters degree in Strategic Management. He has over 20 years’ experience in the financial services sector and is currently the general manager of a local insurance company.

Martin Kazack Moyo is the Ward 3 Councillor in Bulawayo and his election was held in chambers. He succeeds Thabo Moyo.

Bulawayo businessman and Ward 5 Councillor, Gift Banda, was elected the city’s Deputy Mayor after beating two other contestants, Ernest Rafamoyo and Ward 28 Councillor, Colleen Ndlovu.

Banda garnered 14 votes while Rafamoyo and Ndlovu managed to get eight and seven votes, respectively.

All the councilors from the 29 wards took part in the elections which were presided over by the city’s Town Clerk, Middleton Nyoni.

Post published in: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *