Nine Nations for Cosafa U20

Nine nations, including Zimbabwe, have so far committed to sending teams to the COSAFA Under-20 Youth Championships to be held in Lesotho from December 3-14.

The COSAFA countries have until today, September 27, to confirm their participation in the prestigious junior tournament. It is one of the leading age-group events on the African continent.

Those that will be in attendance so far are hosts Lesotho, Angola, Botswana, Madagascar, Mozambique, Seychelles, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Zambia are the current holders having triumphed in the previous event staged in Botswana in 2011.

The tournament will be played across two venues – Maseru and Mafeteng – with a round-robin group stage featuring four pools. The top team in each group will advance to the semi-finals, after which the tournament switches to a knockout format.

Players born on or after January 1, 1994, are eligible to compete in what will be a fantastic celebration of the region’s young talent.

The COSAFA Under-20 Youth Championship has been played in various guises since 1983, with Zambia, Zimbabwe and South Africa the dominant forces in the region.

A number of the region’s top stars have cut their teeth at the COSAFA Under-20 Youth

Post published in: Football

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *