Shadow cabinet welcomed

Analysts have welcomed the appointment of a shadow cabinet by MDC-T leader, Morgan Tsvangirai, but say the team must work hard on research in order to challenge the Zanu (PF) government on key economic policies.

MDC-T leader, Morgan Tsvangirai
MDC-T leader, Morgan Tsvangirai

Tsvangirai on Wednesday announced his list of 21 shadow ministers. He said the shadow cabinet would periodically review the performance of the government using various methods in and outside parliament.

Political analyst, Rejoice Ngwenya, said the new cabinet was a welcome development.

“It is standard practice for all stable opposition parties and it plays a big role in offering advice to the government. Of course we know that Zanu (PF) will pour scorn on this development but it is a welcome move,” Ngwenya said.

He said the members of the shadow cabinet must undertake quantitative research on issues affecting people so that their input is not just mere rhetoric.

“We will have to see how it will operate on the ground but each member of the shadow cabinet should have a research team. The government may or may not listen but the issues must be well researched,” Ngwenya said.

Economist John Robertson said: “It’s a good idea and if they do their arithmetic well, they can challenge Zanu (PF) on policy issues,” he said, adding that even Zanu (PF) would benefit from the shadow cabinet input.

Economist Eric Bloch however said Tsvangirai’s team would not be effective because they would be outnumbered.

“It will unify their stance on policies but they don’t have a chance to change policies because they are such a minority in parliament. It won’t be of any effect because Zanu (PF) can still do whatever it wishes,” he said.

The shadow cabinet is as follows:

Tendai Biti: Finance and Economic Development Sesel Zvidzai: Local Government Elias Mudzuri: Trnasport Nelson Chamisa: ICT Abednico Ncube: Mines Morgan Komichi: Energy Jessie Majome: Justice Lillian Timveos: Home Affairs Tapiwa Mashakada: Industry and Commerce Godern Moyo: International Relations ThamsangaMahlangu: Tourism Gift Chimanikire: Defence Ruth Labode: Health and Child Welfare

Concillia Chinanzvavana: Basic Education Peter Matarutse: Higher Education Samuel Sipepa Nkomo: Agriculture Paurina Mpariwa: Labour Lucia Mativenga: Gender Solomon Madzore: Youth, Sport, Arts and Culture Joel Gabbuza: Public Works

Post published in: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *