Coventry for Tokyo 2020 IOC Coordination Commissions

The international Olympic Committee (IOC) today appointed Zimbabwean swimming sensation, Kirsty Coventry, as one of the coordinators for the Tokyo 2020 games.

Kirsty Coventry
Kirsty Coventry

Coventry, the country’s only Olympic gold medallist after 1980 will be involved in coordination the events leading to the global showcase under the chairmanship of IOC Vice-President, John Coates.

Coventry expressed her gratitude on her twitter post today.

“As a newly appointed member of the Tokyo2020 Coordination Commission, I am honoured and committed,” she said.

Meanwhile, former Namibian athlete, Frank Fredrick, was appointed the of the Coordination Commission for the 3rd Summer Youth Olympic Games – Buenos Aires 2018.

Coates and Fredericks will lead two experienced teams of commission members, also named today, who will be responsible for assisting their respective local Organising Committees as they prepare for their editions of the Games.

The members of the Coordination Commissions represent the stakeholders of the Olympic Movement, including the athletes, the National Olympic Committees, International Sports Federations and the International Paralympic Committee.

The members of the Coordination Commission for the Games of the XXXII Olympiad – Tokyo 2020 are as follows:

Chairman: John COATES. Vice-Chair: Alex GILADY Members (in alphabetical order): Sebastian COE, Mikaela COJUANGCO-JAWORSKI, Kirsty COVENTRY, Anita DEFRANTZ, Guy DRUT, Habu GUMEL, Nicole HOEVERTSZ, Robin MITCHELL, Lydia NSEKERA, Andrew PARSONS, Irena SZEWINSKA, Marius VIZER, Zaiqing YU.

Post published in: Sport

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *