Soccer Star finalists unveiled

Dynamos have the highest number of finalists for the 2013 Castle Soccer Star of the Year Award finalists following the selection that was held in Harare on Saturday.

The popular Harare side which last year won the league title but contributed only three players this time around have three players on the calendar in the form of Gift Bello, George Chigova and Tawanda Muparati. In fact, the 1998 Caf Champions League finalists could have had more had it not been for the disqualification of Devon Chafa for taking banned substances and Partson Jaure for charging at the referee in a league match against bitter rivals Dynamos.

That aside. The other finalist for the coveted award are Hardlife Zvirekwi of Caps United, Eric Chipeta of Hwange, Menard Mupera of How Mine, Kuda Mahachi and Tonderai Ndoro of Chicken Inn, Charles Sibanda of FC Platinum, Tichaona Diya of Highlanders as well as Silas Songani of Harare City.

In fact, Mahachi of Chicken Inn is the only of the 11 finalists from last year who has managed to make it among the be 11 for this year.

Although the soccer star was selected on Saturday he will only be made public at a party that will be hosted by Delta Beverages before the end of this year. At the same day, the sponsors of the top flight football league will also honour the best team of the year.

Last year, the soccer star of the year award went to Dynamos’ Denver Mukamba who has since relocated to South Africa where he plays for Bidvest Wits. The previous year, another Dynamos son, Washington Arubi won the coveted award. This year, however, things do not seem to be going Dynamos’ way as Tonderai Ndoro and Silas Songani appeared to be popular among the finalist.

The soccer star of the year ward was introduced by the Sports Writers Association of Zimbabwe way back in 1969 when George Shaye won the competition. Shaya went on to win the award a record five times with Peter Ndlovu and Stanley Ndunduma being the only ones to win the award more that once after winning it twice.

Post published in: Football
  1. Norton Ashleywer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *