Darare wins Mutare chess grand prix

Heath Darare is the winner of the first Chess Grand Prix which was held on the 22nd -23rd February at Mutare Polytechnic. He was tied with on 6 points with Dion Moyo,and Spencer Masango. However Heath won it on butcholtz.

Byron Gurajena was on fourth position with 5,5 points.There was a tie on the fifth position.Lewis Kahoba, Elisha Chimbamu, Hamilton Mandeya, Mfaro Mangono, Cevan Murerwa and Munashe Ziome all had 5 points out of 7 games of play.

Fifty one paticipants took part in the tourney. Colleta Wakuruwarehwa was the best lady of the tourney with 4 points so was Tatenda Zengeni. Prince Dapetha was the best local player with 4 points out of 7 rounds of play. Ronald Chimanzi, John Jokomo, Bismarck Bhobhojani and Kudakwashe Sibanda found the going tough in this tourney and I hope that they will improve with tourneys to come. Byron Gurajena played one of the best games of the tournament when he stormed the barricades of Hamilton Mandeya's defence.

The tourney was run by Elton Mhangarayi of the Zimbabwe Chess federation. The President of the Chess federation also graced the occasion.

Meanwhile Harare Schools Chess Association will have their double round fixtures on the 15th of March at Prince Edward school. All Schools in the chess league are reminded to note the date. The games start at 8 in the morning.

Post published in: Sport

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *