ICC trophy on tour

The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently disclosed the details of the local leg of the World Cup Trophy international tour.

The Cricket World Cup trophy will visit countries that will participate in next year’s extravaganza to be staged in Australia and New Zealand from February14 to March 29. Bridget Rive, the ICC Media and Communications Officer, told The Zimbabwean the trophy would be on show on October 2 in Harare.

The prestigious trophy will be on display for one day, before heading off to tour Jamaica, United Arab Emirates, Barbados and the two host countries.

Other participants in the game’s biggest competition are Sri Lanka, India, Bangladesh, United Kingdom, Scotland, Ireland, Pakistan, Afghanistan and South Africa.

The current trophy was created for the 1999 champion, Australia, and was the first permanent prize in the tournament's history. Prior to this, different trophies were made for each ICC Cricket World Cup.

Measuring 60 centimetres high and weighing about 11 kilogrammes, it is made from silver and gilt, and features a golden globe held up by three silver columns.

The names of the previous winners are engraved on the base of the trophy, with space for a total of 20 inscriptions.

Meanwhile, perennial strugglers Zimbabwe are grouped alongside champions, India, Ireland, neighbours South Africa, United Arab Emirates and West Indies at next year’s tournament.

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *