Aussies name strong team for Zimbabwe Series

The Australian national cricket team are not taking any chances and have named a strong team for the Triangular Series against hosts Zimbabwe and South Africa that begins on August 25.

Veteran Michael Clarke will captain the side that has a host of familiar faces coupled by a few changes. The most notable inclusions are those of Nathan Lyon who has earned a recall while all rounder Mitchell Marsh has been considered after impressing for the Australian A side.

Chris Rogers, Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris and Peter Siddle have been rested for the tour but the seasoned Sharne Watson and Steve Smith will be coming to Zimbabwe and are likely to be the openers in the Series. Also included in the team are Ben Cutting, Glen Maxwell and Kane Richardson.

This is the first time in 10 years that the Aussies are touring Zimbabwe. The Australians will play two matches against Zimbabwe and South Africa culminating in the final on September 6. They begin their campaign against the hosts Zimbabwe on August 25.

They will follow the Zimbabwe encounter with a game against bitter rivals South Africa on August 27.

The Australians are also using the Series to fine tune their team for the 2015 World Cup they will jointly host with New Zealand. “The tri-series against Zimbabwe and South Africa is another important step in our preparations for the ICC World Cup early next year,” says national selector Rod Marsh At the World Cup Australia are in the same group A with England, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Bangladesh while Zimbabwe are in Pool B where they will face the likes of world champions India, South Africa, Pakistan, the West Indies and Ireland.

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *