Cape Town Zimbabwe Excellence Awards nominees announced

The nominees for this year’s Cape Town Zimbabwe Excellence Awards have been announced, the event’s organiser Julius Shamu said on Tuesday.

N2-to-Cape-Town-LARGENow with a few more categories, the 2nd edition’s nominees were unveiled at a glamorous event last week in Cape Town.

“We are pleased to have received a large number of nominations this year, proof that the event is gaining momentum and that people are embracing it,” Shamu told The Zimbabwean.

“The red carpet event remains committed to its cause, which is to bring people together, to recognise and acknowledge individuals and companies that are flying the Zimbabwe and South African flags high.”

Shamu said despite the challenges facing those running businesses in the diaspora, individuals and companies continued to be resilient, excelling in their various projects and ventures.

The awards sought to honour these individuals as they played a key role, contributing to the economy of the city of Cape Town, he added.

He said other Zimbabweans would draw inspiration from those who will be honoured and thus be also encouraged to emulate them.

“This year we introduced a voting system different from last year where judges came up with winners, and the fact that the system allows people to vote for individuals based on their profiles allows for wider participation,” he said.

“The voting system does not show real-time results, contrary to what people might think as it defeats the whole purpose of the awards, rendering the event useless.”

Addditional categories, such as the Directors award for best matriculants , the young upcoming entrepreneur of the year, as well as the music/artist/group of the year, have been introduced for much broader representation.

The entertainment category has also been renamed Palmer T Vushe Entertainment Personality of the year Award, in honour of one who passed on early February.

Sponsors for this year’s event include Mukuru Money Transfer, Impress Clothing, Shamstone Production, Uhuru Training, Maps Graphics, Ethelic Boutique, AV Studios, Standard Film and ACT Foods.

Below is a full list of the nominees

Newsleader of the year award

Tariro Washinyira

Victor Chipato

Frank Mushakavanhu


Community Leader of the year award

Delphino Machikicho

Sam Gumbojena

Edmore Mazungunye


Woman Entreprenuer of the year

Chipo Ethel Mkuku

Pamela Jiri

Grace Mujuru


Music/Artist/Group of the year award

Taderera “Shamie” Mabvudzi of Afrikalcha band

Bianca Dhliwayo aka Sweetbeey

Admire Murefu of Kingdom Sensation

Edmore Mazungunye of Flame of Praise


Palmer T. Vushe Entertainment Personality of the year award

Reginald Zvauya aka DJ Ras Reggie

Witness Morgan Chasara aka DJ Morgan Stitch

Albert Zanganembo aka DJ Bashmouth

Mark Mazonde of Marklink Films

Taderera “Shamie” Mabvudzi of Afrikacha band


Business organisation of the year award

Prince Chifamba of Chiftron Transport

Moreboys Munetsi of Zororo Phumlani

Whisper Makuni Ganya of MTA Marketing

Phillip Gwatidzo – International Hospitality Recruitment Services


Young Upcoming entrepreneur of the year award

Munyaradzi Nkomo of Migration Specialists

Thinkwell Matanda – Redress Africa

Kelvin Manlee – Manlee construction

Tongai Joseph Dhafana – Mosi Wines


Businessman of the year award

Prince Chifamba – Chiftron Transport

Whisper Makuni Ganya – MTA Marketing

Tawanda Bako – Bukura & Bako Tours

Phillip Gwatidzo – International Hospitality Recruitment Services


Small business of the year award

Moses Munzwembiri – Labelle Afrique

Tafadzwa Desire Marshal – TD Mash Tours

Weston Willie Hussein – Wasillah Projects

Chipo Ethel Mukuku – Etheliq Boutique

Albert Zinhanga – N7 Zimbabwe Farmers


Directors Award

Valention Phiri

Caroline Chikomba

Kimberly Bangure

Tafara Nyatsanza

Trish Nyabadza

Post published in: Africa News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *