Musona omission disappoints fans

musonaJOHANNESBURG - While mystery surrounds his omission from the nominees for the Absa Premiership Player of the Season, Zimbabwe striker Knowledge Musona (Pictured) should gain solace from the nomination of one of his goals for the Goal of the Season Award.

The Premier Soccer League this past weekend revealed the nominees for the individual awards for the 2010/11 season with the Kaizer Chiefs forwards omission a major surprise. His captain Jimmy Taurai Tau, Andile Jali of Orlando Pirates and Ajax Cape Town sensation, Thulani Serero will battle it out for the leagues most prestigious individual award. The judging panels decision appeared to have even caught Tau by surprise.

I think Musona has done enough to deserve the best player of the year, he said from Johannesburg. Nonetheless, Musonas brilliant individual effort is a firm favourite to win the Absalutely Awesome Goal of the Season, which recognizes the best goal during a particular season. He scored the stunner last December against relegated Mpumalanga Black Aces.

Seconds into the game at puma Stadium in Mpumalanga, fellow Zimbabwe international Thomas Sweswe, flighted in a cross which Musona finished off with a brilliant bicycle kick from outside the penalty box in a game Chiefs eventually won 2-0. In fact, Musona scored both goals. His effort is competing against goals scored by Tlou Segolela of Pirates and Serero.

Black Aces Academy product Musona had a splendid season, his second in South Africa. His 14 goals have put him in good stead to win the Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot Award while his performances during the Telkom Knockout make him a favourite to win the Player of the Tournament Ward. He has already bagged the Striker of the Tournament Award and two Absa Premiership Player of the Month Awards.

Meanwhile, PSL this past weekend revealed nominees for the individual awards. Jali and Serero and Eric Mathoho of Bloemfontein Celtic are in the running to win the Absa Hot Young Player of the Year. Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns), Patrick Tignyemb (Bloemfontein Celtic) and Hans Vonk of Ajax will battle it out for the Absa Premiership Goal Keeper of the Season.

Ruud Krol (Pirates), Foppe De Haan (Ajax) and Celtics Clint Larsen will contest the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season.

This season-end function will be held at the Gold Reef City on Sunday May 29. This will be a day after the Nedbank Cup final at Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit, the final match of the campaign.

Post published in: Zimbabwe Sports News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *