ICC World Cup Qualifier kicks-off for women

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has launched the online media guide for the upcoming ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2011 (WWCQ), slated for November 14-26 in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Ten countries, including Zimbabwe and its southern neighbour, South Africa, will fight it out across four venues and the ICC guide provides full squad information, interesting facts about all of the 10 teams playing in the tournament as well as the schedule and qualification process for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013, which Zimbabwe is yet to qualify for.

This WWCQ, which begins tomorrow, will see hosts Bangladesh joined by teams from Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, USA and Zimbabwe, who will battle it out for the four remaining spots at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2013.

World champion England, Australia, India and New Zealand have already qualified for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 by virtue of finishing in the top four at the 2009 event, which was staged in Sydney, Australia.

According to the international cricket controlling body, the matches between Ireland, Netherlands, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies will have ODI status, in a tournament that will be played at four venues in Dhaka, namely Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Khanshaheb Osman Ali Stadium, BKSP 2 and BKSP 3.

ICC President, Sharad Pawar, paid tribute to the tournament at the media guide launch. “In the ICC Strategic plan, we have identified women’s cricket as one of the areas for growth and there is no better showcase for the 50-over competition than the ICC Women’s World Cup flagship event which will be held in 2013,” said Pawar.

“Over the 12 days between 14 November and 26 November 10, teams will battle for the top four positions which will guarantee them a place alongside England (the holders), New Zealand, Australia and India. I am sure that the public of Bangladesh and their media will support the tournament in which

their ever improving women’s team features. There will also be ICC Women’s Player of the Year Stafanie Taylor on show for the West Indies.”

He said that the tournament would signal the start of a very exciting four years for women’s cricket in South Asia, ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 2012 in Sri Lanka, the ICC Women’s World Cup finals in 2013 and in 2014 and a return to Bangladesh for the ICC World Twenty20.

“In the ICC World Twenty20 the women’s semi –finals and final are played on the same ground in front of the same crowd and on the same day as the men’s events,” added the ICC chief.

“This initiative started in England in 2009 and is now a fixture at ICC World Twenty20 events, so there is a magnificent opportunity for women’s cricket and ICC are determined to ensure that opportunity is grasped.”Mustafa Zimbabwe qualified for this event by finishing second place in the Africa Women’s World Cup Qualifiers, in which they edged out continental rivals Kenya by having a better run-rate.

Participating teams have been split into two groups – A and B.

Group A

South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Zimbabwe, USA

Group B

West Indies, Pakistan, Ireland, Japan, Bangladesh

Zimbabwe team – Sharne MEy ers (c), Julia Chibhabha, Precious Marange, Sinikiwe Mpofu, Nonhlanhla Nyathi, Sharyce Saili, Christabel Chatonzwa, Pellagia Mujaji, Privilledge Charumbira, Thandolwenkosi Mlilo, Modester Mupachikwa, Ashley Ndiraya, Audrey Mazvishaya, Sarah Dambanevana, Loreen Tshuma

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *