Taibu out of Twenty 20 Triangular Series

Former Zimbabwe cricket team captain, Tatenda Taibu, has been ruled out of the Twenty 20 Triangular Series involving Zimbabwe, Bangladesh and South Africa that starts on Monday through injury.

Tatenda Taibu
Tatenda Taibu

Joining the veteran wicketkeeper on the sidelines is bowler Raymond Price who will also not take part in the three team extravaganza through injury as has been revealed by assistant coach, Stephen Mangongo.

Although the experience of Taibu and Price will be missed, Zimbabwe has retained a strong team of youth and experience as most of the usually dependable players have been called along with a host of promising youngsters.

More importantly. Vusi Sibanda, who was not considered for the Zimbabwean Tour of New Zealand in January after opting to play grade cricket in Australia instead of franchaise cricket in Zimbabwe, has been recalled to the squad as Zimbabwe builds up for the Twenty20 World Cup to come later in the year.

On top of Sibanda, the team captain, Brendan Taylor, will lead the team propped up by the experience of Hamilton Masakadza, Charles Coventry, Malcolm Waller, Kyle Jarvis, Prosper Utseya, and Elton Chigumbura.

Experienced seamer Chris Mpofu also makes a comeback after missing the New Zealand series with a lower back injury.

There are places too for Brian Vitori, Graeme Creemer, Tendai Chatara and Keegan Meth. The Tri-Series Nations will begin on Monday with the hosts taking on the Tigers of Bangladesh.

Bangladesh is probably the only team that Zimbabwe has found easy to beat at international level.

This will be followed the next day with a fixture between South Africa and Bangladesh before Zimbabwe returns to the fold with a match against the South Africans on 20 June.

The final of the competition will be staged on 24 June and all matches are being played at the Harare Sports Club. The three teams are using the contest to prepare for the Twenty20 World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka in September.

Zimbabwe has at the World Cup been drawn in the same group with the hosts Sri Lanka, and South Africa.

Post published in: Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *