Bill Watch 45/2013 of 16th September

Ministerial Appointments

On 11th September the President swore in Vice-President Joice Mujuru and Ministers, Ministers of State in the President’s Office or Vice-President’s Office, Ministers of State for Provincial Affairs and Deputy Ministers at State House.

There are 26 Cabinet Ministers: 3 Ministers of State; 10 Ministers of State for Provincial Affairs, one for each of the ten provinces; and 24 Deputy Ministers [Total 63]. The corresponding figures for the 2009-2013 Inclusive Government are: 36 Cabinet Ministers; 6 Ministers of State; 10 Provincial Governors/Resident Ministers; 19 Deputy Ministers [Total 71].



1. Ministers of State and Deputy Ministers do not sit in Cabinet.

2. The President still has the option of appointing a second Vice-President under the Constitution. Since the 1987 Unity Accord between ZANU and the former ZAPU leading to the merging of those parties, the President has always appointed one of the Vice-Presidents from the old ZAPU wing of the party. A replacement for Vice-President Landa John Nkomo, who had been one of the party’s Vice-Presidents, was not made by the party after his death in January. His successor will probably be elected at the next ZANU-PF national congress and then be appointed as the country’s second Vice-President.

3. All Ministers and Deputy Ministers are members of Parliament, except for five Ministers who do not hold seats. President Mugabe has used to the full the power he enjoys under section 104(3) of the Constitution to appoint a maximum of five Ministers from outside Parliament [“up to five, chosen for their professional skills and competence, may be appointed from outside Parliament”]. The individuals so appointed, each indicated by an asterisk * in the lists below, were unsuccessful candidates for Parliamentary seats in the recent elections. These five Ministers may “sit and speak, but not vote, in the Senate or House of Assembly”. It is not necessary for them to become MPs in order to retain their Ministerial positions, as would have been the case under the former Constitution.

Ex officio members

President Mugabe

Vice-President Mujuru

Ministerial members appointed to Cabinet by President

Senior Minister of State without Portfolio Moyo, Simon Khaya

Ministers [In alphabetical order by name of Ministry]

Agriculture, Mechanisation & Irrigation Development Made, Joseph *

Defence Sekeramayi, Sydney

Energy and Power Development Mavhaire, Dzikamai

Environment, Water & Climate Kasukuwere, Savior

Finance Chinamasa. Patrick

Foreign Affairs Mumbengegwi, Samuel

Health & Child Care Parirenyatwa, David

Higher & Tertiary Education, Science &

Technology Development Muchena, Olivia

Home Affairs Mohadi, Kembo

Industry & Commerce Bimha, Mike

Information & Communication Technology,

Postal & Courier Services Shamu, Webster

Justice & Legal Affairs Mnangagwa, Emmerson

Lands & Rural Resettlement Mombeshora, Douglas

Local Government, Public Works & National Housing Chombo, Ignatius

Media, Information & Broadcasting Services Moyo, Jonathan *

Mines & Mining Development Chidhakwa, Walter

Presidential Affairs Mutasa, Didymus

Primary & Secondary Education Dokora, Lazarus *

Public Service, Labour & Social Welfare Goche, Nicholas

Small & Medium Enterprises Nyoni, Sithembiso

Sports, Arts & Culture Langa, Andrew

Tourism & Hospitality Industry Mzembi, Walter

Transport & Infrastructural Development Mpofu, Obert

Women’s Affairs, Gender & Community

Development Muchinguri, Oppah

Youth, Indigenisation & Economic Empowerment Nhema, Francis

Ministers of State

Minister of State for Presidential Affairs Buka, Flora

Minister of State for for Liaising on Psychomotor

Activities in Education and Vocational Training Hungwe, Josiah

Minister of State in Vice-President

Mujuru’s office Nguni, Sylvester

Ministers of State for Provincial Affairs

It is as yet unclear what the functions of these ten Ministers of State will be. There is concern they will take the place of the former Provincial Governors/Resident Ministers and thus dilute the decentralised functions of the new Provincial Councils.

Bulawayo Moyo, Eunice

Harare Chikukwa, Mirriam

Manicaland Mushowe, Chris

Mashonaland Central Dinha, Martin *

Mashonaland West Chidarikire, Faber *

Mashonaland East Mudarikwa, Simbaneuta

Masvingo Bhasikiti, Kudakwashe

Matabeleland North Mathema, Cain

Matabeleland South Ncube, Abednico

Midlands Machaya, Jason

Deputy Ministers

[In alphabetical order by name of Ministry]

Agriculture (2):

Cropping, Mechanisation &

Irrigation Development Murapira, Davis

Livestock Zhanda, Paddy

Energy & Power Development Musanhu, Munacho

Environment, Water & Climate Musanhu, Simon

Finance Undenge, Samuel

Foreign Affairs Mutsvangwa, Christopher

Health & Child Care Chimedza, Paul

Higher & Tertiary Education, Science &

Technology Development Gandawa, Godfrey

Home Affairs Ziyambi, Ziyambi

Industry & Commerce (2) Chiratidzo, Iris

Information & Communication Technology,

Postal & Courier Services Mlambo, Win

Justice, Legal & Parliamentary Affairs Chasi, Fortune

Lands & Rural Resettlement Savanhu, Tendai

Local Government, Public Works & National Housing Matiza, Biggie

Media, Information & Broadcasting Services Mandiwanzira, Supa

Mines & Mining Development Moyo, Fred

Primary & Secondary Education Mavhima, Paul

Public Service, Labour & Social Welfare Muzenda, Tongai

Small & Medium Enterprises & Cooperative

Development Mukonora, Noveti

Sports, Arts & Culture Malinga, Tabeth

Tourism & Hospitality Industry Kanhanga, Walter

Transport & Infrastructural Development Kagonye, Petronella

Women’s Affairs, Gender & Community

Development Damasane, Abigail

Youth, Indigenisation & Economic Empowerment Tongofa, Mathias

Re-Assignment of Responsibility for Acts of Parliament

Some of the Ministries that were set up under the inclusive government no longer exist, e.g., Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs, Regional Integration and International Cooperation and State Enterprises and Parastatals. Some have been split, e.g. Education, Sports, Arts and Culture has become two Ministries: (1) Primary and Secondary Education, (2) Sports, Arts and Culture. Some have been amalgamated under a new name, e.g. Environment, Water and Climate combines two former Ministries. It will therefore be necessary for the President to re-assign Ministerial responsibilities, including responsibility for administration of Acts of Parliament. Until that is done there is a possibility of public confusion about the areas for which Ministers are responsible. Responsibility for administration of Acts is invariably notified by statutory instrument, thereby enabling readers of Acts to make sense of references to “the Minister” in Acts which have been rendered out of date, such as “’Minister’ means the Minister of Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs” and to give effect to references like “or such other Minister to whom the President may from time to time assign the administration of this Act”.

Note: Section 104(1) of the Constitution allows the President to “reserve to himself or herself the administration of any Act, Ministry or department”.

Post published in: Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *