Bill Watch Parliamentary Committees 21/2014 of 5th May

Committee Meetings Open to the Public Monday 5th May

Thematic and portfolio committees resume work today, Monday 5th May. The Senate and the National Assembly will reconvene next week, on Tuesday 13th May.

Three committee meetings today will be open to the public, as specified below. Open meetings for the rest of the week will be listed in a separate bulletin.

Monday 5th May at 10 am

Portfolio Committee: Transport and Infrastructure Development

Oral evidence from CMED Loss Control and from CMED Workers Committee on their working conditions

Committee Room No 1

Chair: Hon Midzi Clerk: Ms Macheza

Monday 5th May at 2 pm

Thematic Committee: Gender and Development

Oral evidence from the Apostolic Christian Council of Zimbabwe [ACCZ] on interventions to prevent violence and abuse

Committee Room No 3

Chair: Hon W. Sibanda Clerk: Mr Chiremba

Thematic Committee: HIV/AIDS

Analysis of the SADC Model Law and the National Aids Council Act

Government Caucus Room

Chair: Hon Timveos Clerk: Mrs Khumalo

Members of the public may attend these meetings, but as observers only, not as participants, i.e. they may listen but not speak. The meetings are at Parliament in Harare. If attending, please use the entrance on Kwame Nkrumah Ave between 2nd and 3rd Streets. Note that IDs must be produced.

The above details are based on the latest information from Parliament. But, as there are sometimes last-minute changes to the meetings schedule, persons wishing to attend should avoid disappointment by checking with the relevant committee clerk [see names below] that the meeting is still on and open to the public. Parliament’s telephone numbers are Harare 700181 and 252940/1.


Members of the public, including Zimbabweans in the Diaspora, can at any time send written submissions to Parliamentary committees by email addressed to [email protected]

Post published in: Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *