Bill Watch Parliamentary Committees 22/2014 of 5 May

Committee Meetings Open to the Public Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday

The Parliamentary committee meetings listed below will be open to the public on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday 6th, 7th and 8th May.

Members of the public may attend these meetings, but as observers only, not as participants, i.e. they may listen but not speak. The meetings are at Parliament in Harare. If attending, please use the entrance on Kwame Nkrumah Ave between 2nd and 3rd Streets. Please note that IDs must be produced.

The above details are based on the latest information from Parliament. But, as there are sometimes last-minute changes to the meetings schedule, persons wishing to attend should avoid disappointment by checking with the relevant committee clerk [see names below] that the meeting is still on and open to the public. Parliament’s telephone numbers are Harare 700181 and 252940/1.

Tuesday 6th May at 10 am

Thematic Committee: MDG’s

Oral evidence from the Ministry of Industry and Commerce on MDG Number 8

Government Caucus

Chair: Hon Chief Mtshane Clerk: Mrs Hazvina

Portfolio Committee: Health and Child Care

Oral evidence from Dr Dube on issues surrounding the establishment of Ekhusileni Medical Hospital

Committee Room No 1

Chair: Hon Labode Clerk: Mrs Mafuruse

Portfolio Committee: Local Government, Rural and Urban Development

Oral evidence from Chitungwiza Rural Resident Trust on lack of service delivery

National Assembly

Chairperson: Hon Zindi Clerk: Ms Macheza

Portfolio Committee: Lands, Agriculture Mechanisation and Irrigation

Oral evidence from Tobacco Industry Marketing Board (TIMB) on the licensing of tobacco players, regulations governing tobacco contract farming, auction floors and buyers

National Assembly

Chairperson: Hon Butau Clerk: Mr Chiremba

Wednesday 7th May at 10 am

Portfolio Committee: Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

Public hearings on the Electoral Amendment Bill [final stage of a countrywide process that commenced on 2nd May]

Senate Chamber

Chair: Hon Majome Clerk: Ms Zenda

Thursday 8th May at 9 am

Portfolio Committee: Education, Sports, Arts and Culture

Oral evidence from the Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture on the preparedness of hosting the Africa Zone 6 games

National Assembly

Chairperson: Hon Mliswa Clerk: Mr Munjenge

Thursday 8th April at 10 am

Thematic Committee: Indigenisation and Empowerment

Oral evidence from the Bindura and Mhondoro-Ngezi Community Share Ownership Trusts on their operations

Senate Chamber

Chairperson: Hon Chizema Clerk: Mr Ratsakatika

Portfolio Committee: Small and Medium Enterprises and Cooperative Development

Oral evidence from Association of Small and Medium Enterprises on its challenges

Government Caucus

Chairperson: Hon Mangami Clerk: Mr Mazani


Members of the public, including Zimbabweans in the Diaspora, can at any time send written submissions to Parliamentary committees by email addressed to [email protected]

Post published in: Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *