Zim Achievers Awards South Africa calls for nominations 2015

Today, The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards South Africa chapter announced the unveiling of the 2015 Zim Achievers Awards. The prestigious awards event is in its 2nd year, following a successful ceremony held in November last year.

Simba Mhere
Simba Mhere

The event emulated the United Kingdom chapter of the 5th grand Zimbabwe Achievers Awards UK that took place at The Royal Garden Hotel in Kensington London on the 9th of May 2015.

The awards are the epitome of excellence in various categories that comprise the Zimbabwean Community working and living in South Africa.

ZAA South Africa CEO Richard Moyo announced on behalf of the ZAA SA Team that in honour of their first ZAA Media Personality of the year award recipient the late Simba Mhere; they will be naming the award The Simba Mhere Media Personality of the Award. Richard said “it is an honour to have known Simba, he received unanimous votes from the public and it is only befitting that we salute him by naming this award after him. Because of the impact he had on many lives from a young age, we are also proud to announce that we will be introducing the Young Achievers Award into the categories.”

Mr Conrad Mwanza, the ZAA Chairman reiterated his sentiments from ZAA UK and stated that: “We can certainly make a difference, and I’d like to encourage all Zimbabweans to participate and get involved.” Mr Mwanza also stated that South Africa should once again look forward to a world class event that will showcase some of Zimbabwe’s best and brightest on the red carpet.

The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards _South Africa categories are as follows:


1. Business of the year

2. Female Entrepreneur of the year

3. Male Entrepreneur of the year

4. Professional of the year


5. Community Organization of the year award

6. Community Champion of the year award

The Arts, Culture and Sports:

7. Music Artist/ Group of the year award

8. Sports Personality of the year award

9. Simba Mhere Media Personality of the year award

10. Entertainment Personality of the year award

Special Category:

11. Lifetime Outstanding Contribution award

12. Young Achievers award

13. Academic Excellence of the year award

14. People’s Choice award

15. Friends of Zimbabwe award

Today’s unveiling presented the public with a Call-to-Action. The key message is #nominate on the website; SMS lines, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Google Plus.

The nominations announcement is scheduled to take place in August at a date and venue to be announced.

“We’re looking forward to putting out another world class event to honour and celebrate our fellow countrymen who have excelled in their varied trades, while paying homage to the land that allows them to do so.”

Richard Moyo_ ZAA SA CEO.

Post published in: Arts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *