Two to African Leopards

Zim skippers selected for regional rugby tournament
HARARE - Zimbabwe rugby team captain Cleopas Makotose (23) and vice skipper Jacques Leitao (21) have been selected to join the African Leopards, following their stellar performance for the country in the Africa Cup.

African Leopards is a new continental rugby team that played its inaugural match against the SA Students at Ellis Park in July last year. It was established to promote rugby on the continent.
This is the first time selectors have chosen two Zimbabweans for the side, which draws its players from 10 countries.
Bruce Hobson, the Zimbabwe Rugby Union president, said he is ‘excited’ to announce that Makotose and Leitao have been selected to play for the Africa Leopards. The team will play against France Under 20 on 10 October
“The selection was a result of a process carried out during the Africa Cup matches earlier this year and is due reward for two of Zimbabwe’s prominent young players,” Hobson said.
Makotose, a South Africa-based fullback and Leitao, Mashonaland Country Districts flank, are also part of the Zimbabwe team that will play Zambia in international friendly on Saturday at Harare Sports Club.
Zimbabwe’s national 15s, Under-21s and Women’s Sevens teams will also be in action in international friendlies against Zambia.
This regional derby of rugby will bring the curtain down on the 15s rugby season. Zambia is currently rebuilding their team and so the stage is set for a great afternoon’s rugby.
Meanwhile, Bruce Macmillan, son of former Old Hararians player Ewan Macmillan, has got his first call-up to the national team, the Sables.
Macmillan, the former Under-18 national team player, is based in South Africa where he received a scholarship and is undergoing training in the Sharks Rugby Academy.
Sports Club lock Denford Mutamangira, Fidelis Nyabusha and Mashonaland Country Districts lock Brendon Brider have also received a call for the team following their impressive performance at club level.
However, Roland Benade, who got a scholarship at Hartpury College in England, will not be available for the international friendly. He was due to leave on Wednesday for England.
Forwards: Alfred Sairayi, Dustin Wilcox, Jacques Leitao, Fortune Chipendo, Prayer Chitenderu, Mike Hess, Sean Saywood, Gardner Nechironga, Norman Mukondiwa, Murungari Zvikomborero, Ray Dzvairo, Denford Mutamangira, Fidelis Nyabusha, Brendon Brider.
Backs: Garry Hewitt, Donald Mangenje, Piet Benade Bruce Macmillan, Martin Mahwani, Paul Staark, Willis Magasa, Cleopas Makotose, Tich Makwanya, Tom Benade, Victor Zimbawo, Gerald Sibanda, Bruce Chibesa, Ausin Coken.

Post published in: Zimbabwe Sports News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *