Malajila set for Hall of Fame

cuthbert_malajilaBULAWAYO - Warriors and Dynamos striker, Cuthbert Malajila, (Pictured) is just two goals shy of eclipsing Sageby Sandaka and Luke Petros record as the countrys Golden Boot award winners in the COSAFA Senior Challenge.

The Dynamos hit man netted a brace in their opening Group A match against Mauritius before scoring again in the 2-2 draw against the Crocodiles of Lesotho to take his tally to three goals.

Malajila, who also played for Highlanders and Chapungu before switching to Dynamos, is likely to walk into the countrys Hall of Fame, if he maintains his current form.

He is currently on par with some of the countrys best forwards.

Ndlovu hit three goals for the Warriors in 2003 before nailing another three goals in 2004. This is the same year that the Warriors won their second COSAFA title under Sunday Chidzambwa.

The former Mamelodi Sundowns striker scored two goals in his first dance in the tournament in 1998. The late Benjamin Nkonjera, Tauya Murehwa and Shepherd Muradzikwa scored two goals apiece in the same tournament.

However, the record that Malajila has to beat in this year’s edition of the tournament is that of Sandaka and Petros.

Sandaka, the former AmaZulu forward, who is now plying his trade in Botswana, scored four goals in the 2005 tournament, which Zimbabwe also won under coach Charles Mhlauri. Francis Chandida scored two goals in this tournament.

Petros, who retired from a glittering professional football career that took him to Kaizer Chiefs, is one of the greatest strikers to turn for Warriors in the COSAFA Senior Challenge.

The player who is now trying his hand at coaching at Lancashire Steel scored four goals in 2000.

The other top strikers who have graced the COSAFA Senior Challenge are Mozambiques Adelino who scored four goals in 1998. Seychelless Phillip Zialor was the top goal scorer in last years tournament, when he netted four goals.

The other top goal scorer to emerge out of the COSAFA tournament is Zambias Collins Mbesuma, who scored four goals in the 2005 tournament.The Cosafa Senior Challenge is in its 13th year.Zimbabwe, Angola, South Africa and Zambia have won the event three times each, while Angolas success in 2004 meant they got to keep the first trophy.

Post published in: Zimbabwe Sports News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *