Zim beat Seychelles to storm into Chan finals

The Zimbabwe Warriors qualified for the African Nations Championships finals in Sudan next year after hammering Seychelles 2-0 in the finals s leg of the tournament at Rufaro Stadium yesterday.

Warriors captain Method Mwanjali and substitute Tafadzwa “Fire” Rusike were on target for Zimbabwe who advanced to the finals on a comprehensive 6-2 aggregate win. The Warriors went into the match with a healthy cushion after beating the Seychelles 4-2 in Victoria two weeks ago. However, the home team wasted a glut of chances especially in the first half with the strike force of Nyasha Mushekwi and Cuthbert Malajila guilt of missing clear opportunities.

Norman Mapeza’s charges controlled the game from the first whistle but lack of finishing was their biggest undoing. Motor Action midfielder Bekimpilo Ncube, scorer of the other goal in the second leg could have put his name on the score sheet after 12 minutes when he won possession in the penalty area but his effort deflected off defender Maringo Ronny Jean. On 29 minutes Malajila also had an opportunity but headed wide following a cross from the left by Ashley Rambanepasi.

Ncube, then watched in disbelief when his effort crashed against the upright post on 40 minutes. After the interval Mapeza brought in Rusike for Ncube while his counterpart Martin Nees opted to bring in goalkeeper Euphrasie Jose for Sopha Erick. However, the Warriors won a penalty 12 minutes into the second half after defender Larue Herve handled in the box and Namibia referee Alex Tiyeaz justifiably pointed to the spot and Mwanjali stepped up to send the goalkeeper the wrong way.

Four minutes later Mapeza brought on Evans Gwekwerere for Mushekwi and had his first touch saved by Seychelles keeper Erick. But Rusike capped it all with a beautiful strike on 71 minutes after he was set up by Rambanepasi to give Zimbabwe another ticket to the finals in Sudan having taken part in the last edition in Ivory Coast. The Warriors will join hosts Sudan, holders DR Congo, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal, Algeria, Cameroon, Gabon and Niger for the finals to be held from February 4 in 2011.

Post published in: Zimbabwe Sports News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *